Showing posts with label Ashland farm. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ashland farm. Show all posts

Sunday, October 14, 2012

A family weekend

Yes, my blog has been very silent the past few days.  We've been up in Ashland, WI--just getting away and enjoying some time together with family.

Cass and I started the dismally misty Saturday morning out by running a 5K together (at least up until mile 1.5).  She kept going at a decent pace, while I backed off and enjoyed the rest of the race with some walks.  I kept saying that my excuse was going to be that I wanted the top male 10K'er to pass me by the time I crossed the finish line, but.... he never did.  I guess that means I did okay :)

The rest of the day, we did absolutely NOTHING!  We sat in the living room...relaxed... and watched one chick flick after another on the Hallmark channel.  

And then this morning, at 9:30, the three girls and myself headed out to the woods for a lil' nature walk.

We tried to find the perfect "leaning log" for a picture, and we thought we did... until Candace sat down.  LOL.  It was quite a giggle fest!

We found another one, but the girls were more interested in walking across it than having a picture taken on it. :)

Eventually, Paul caught up with us...and we continued to hike around for the next hour or so.




Any hunter knows what this is!  Nice Buck-rub.



AND we eventually found the perfect log for an impromptu family picture.  Who needs expensive photographers and fancy-schmancy outfits for family pictures?  

As always, I hope you found your enjoyment over the weekend as well.
Can you believe it's the middle of OCTOBER!!?!?!

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Red Clay weekend

I'm exhausted!  Almost too exhausted to write this post, but I figured I needed to touch base on my blog to explain the weekend of silence.


The Red Clay Classic car race kept me and my family away from our house this weekend.  The weather was BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I have talked about The Farm in the past, which is my Father-in-Law's 'retirement land,' which also happens to be directly adjacent to a racetrack "up north."  The Red Clay Classic is a HUGE end-of-season race that happens every year during the last weekend of September.


Racers and fans come from all over.  Our favorite annual visitors come from 5 hours north of us -- Canada.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE listening to them talk.  Yah, eh.  They have a fun accent, eh.  Even though they think it's US that have the accent, eh.  
;)

Our 'job' during the weekend is to park campers and cars that don't care to stay over in the racetrack's land.  I don't blame them----the track land has them stacked and parked like sardines in a can.  Quite a few fans and racers have made their way over to our spacious setup;  besides, Dad-in-Law provides free coffee and donuts to all campers Saturday morning.  He knows how to treat people :)

We usually don't watch the races; instead we converse by the fire, all the while parking cars as they arrive to the race.  However, a bunch of us headed over to the pits to watch the final race of the evening.  Sadly, a thick fog bank moved in shortly before the start and thickened to a good pea-soup consistency mid-race.  With 17 laps left to go, the track called the race off due to safety concerns of the racers.


So, yeah.  The girls and I arrived back mid afternoon today, unpacked, took care of animals, started laundry.....all that fun stuff.  Paul will be coming home tomorrow;  he wanted to stay and do some fishing up in the bays of Lake Superior.

Clearly no sewing or embroidery this weekend;  but I'm sure you all did enough to make up for what I didn't do.

Happy Sunday.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

HOT HOT HOT and MUGGY MUGGY MUGGY

HEY!!! MY first chance to actually SIT DOWN at the computer since last Friday...sorry everyone, but life definitely took back over these past few days....

So....bare with me...

First, on Friday, I got my first complete July finish.
Dizzy's binding was sewn on. It still awaits a label, but I'm considering it DONE :0)

On Saturday, I was out in the woods with the boys helping...getting in the way....photographing their bonding time with each other and some manly tools. Together, we cut, split, stacked five loads of wood.

And of course the girls were super happy to see Mom and Dad after two weeks of being with Aunt Jenny and G'ma. We loaded them up on the 'pug' (a glorified 2-seater 'car' that pivots in the middle and has a dump bucket on the back) and headed back to the woods to pick some wild raspberries. We had enough to make a batch of jam {{jam that showed up on the table for Sunday morning breakfast---YUM!!!}}

On a crafty note---no quilting for me since Friday, BUT I found some new inspiration when loading things back into my new sewing room. I NEVER dreamed I would have learned to crochet, and I don't know why I was inspired like I was by this book {{it's not like it's the first time I've looked at it}}. Anyway, on the way up to the farm, we swung into Walmart so I could pick up a size J hook. Then, MIL and I attempted some crochet stitches according to the pictures in the book........needless to say the pics were hard to follow. I couldn't tell where the stitches were, blah, blah, blah. SO, after ripping out 3-strips worth of stitches more than 5 times, I finally said, ENOUGH!!!! Then I waited until getting back home and watched some Youtube 'how-to' videos----SUCCESS! So far, I have used 1 yard of fabric and have a "rug" about 12" in diameter. I don't know how big I'll make this, but it's a good way to use up that BLAH, QUESTIONABLE-QUALITY fabric.

I've been running my volleyball camp for the past two mornings with a decent turn-out. The gym has been HOT HOT HOT with the mugginess bearing down on us. Yesterday after camp, DH asked me to join him in staining a deck---HOT HOT HOT....

and, TODAY, the HOT HOT HOT and MUGGY MUGGY MUGGY didn't deter DH, myself, Nikki (pictured), her brother and dad from gathering together on the softball field to have an afternoon of hitting and chasing down balls! ;0) With sweat pooling in places hidden from view, we spent two hours practicing our batting. Nikki, who is also a recently former student of mine, and I play softball Monday nights. Last night was the first night of tournaments, where we proceeded to advance to the second level (next week) with a 10-1 victory. But we talked about getting together to practice some batting, so.....we made a day of it.

Once we got home, it wasn't time to rest (and THANKFULLLLLY we have AC on a day like today!!!) because I had a couple bucket fulls of cucumbers that needed to be dealt with. SO....a couple of hours and 9 pint jars filled with bread-n-butter pickles later, I am FINALLLLY putting up my feet.

So....there ya have it....
Hopefully tomorrow will be a "me" day after camp.

Monday, July 6, 2009

Lake Superior's glory; a lovely weekend!

This was absolutely a Picture-Perfect-Holiday-Weekend!!! The weather at the farm (Ashland, WI): Upper 80's and Sunny and no wind!

Perfect weather for taking the 'big boat' out on the 'big lake' (Lake Superior), which is exactly what we did on Saturday. Paul's (DH) cousin and husband (Kylie and Jeff) decided to venture to the northern end of the state this weekend (they live in Madison, 6 hours away from Ashland). Jeff has finished up his EIGHTH year of med-school/internships/etc recently; he is a pathologist (microscope-guy). Neither of them have been up to Ashland, so DH gave him the grand-tour of some of Lake Superior's sights...
The Captain, himself....








The "unfathomable" hind-sight feeling upon seeing a picture of this map: AWESTRUCK! We started just to the south of what this map shows (where it points south "to Ashland"), and our tour took us up-n-around Madeline Island, around Michigan Island, and then back around between Madeline and Stockton, then back "home." The tour took us FOUR HOURS, and we really didn't stop to sight-see in anyone location all that long. The waters seemed "endless" once we circled around Michigan Island...yet, looking at this map, we only touched on PART of this small section of Lake Superior.

There are still barges and ships that come in to the Ashland area, delivering something-er-another (most likely coal) to the PowerPlant. There were three lighthouses we saw during our small journey; this is probably the most "Grand" of all of them, just to the NE of Ashland.


Pictured (coutesy of Cassie) is the only remaining oredock in the Ashland (Chequamegon bay) area. Rail cars would roll in along the top of the dock and drop their lot into the chutes (pictured folded up) and into awaiting ships. The massive size of this dock can not be captured on film...



The day was very beautiful, but when we jetted past Madeline island and started hitting more of the 'big-open-waters', temps dropped a bit. It also didn't help that we were jettin' along at 35 MPH in an open boat, too. A few of us found ourselves bundling up with some beach towels until stopping at the next 'sight-seeing' location...


This was Cassie's first time out on the Big waters ... she had only been on the boat one other time last summer for a short trip.....

Upon returning and driving along the marina, I saw my next vehicle!!! Again, pictures can't really show the massiveness of this truck!!! But it appears to have an extended extended cab, and you might be able to see part of the trailer in the picture; also yellow and LONG! We tried to imagine the boat that belonged with the rig!!! Gotta love the color!!!!


Back at the farmstead, Cassie (and all the girls) were in 7th heaven! Watson is Jeff and Kylie's 2 year old golden retriever / cocker spaniel mix. (Yeah, I know...imagine THAT pairing!) He was just the darn-tootin' CUTEST thing ever! He is such a lover! I kept joking with Kylie that he is the perfect size to stash into Cassie's duffle bag AND that I would be willing to make a trade: Watson for one of the girls! :0)
Maddie is DH's sister's chocolate lab; also a lover and VERY well behaved dog. Neither "parents" had to worry about keeping their dog entertained with the girls around!

On the quilting front: VERY little done. I took some fabric up with us and traced/cut out some pieces for a little sampler I'm attempting ALL BY HAND (hand piecing, hand quilting). I can't go into too much more detail because it's a final PIF gift for one of my lovely recipients.

On the running front: I had a lovely run Saturday morning, and sadly, that's it. My sister's city's 5K is coming up this weekend, any chance of a PR is 100% out the window, but it'll still be a fun day with sister and Cassie both taking part in running events as well.

On the gardening front: exciting! GPa and Gma surprised both DH and I with a little C'mas in July present and we are now proud owners of a 17" rear-tine tiller. We arrived home last night at 5:30, and by 6:00 it was motoring away in the garden, and will be motoring away for most of the day today (once the girls wake up and I get outside). Weeds had definitely taken over one of our strawberry patches and one of our corn patches. Today, I will take on the BIG corn patch and the medium corn patch, as well as the potato area of the garden. We were asked this weekend if we had a large garden (by the lady salesman when we went to pick up the tiller); we chuckled and said "No, we have three." I never really sat back to think about how much "garden" we really have.... we have the main garden (~30' x 90'), then we have a LARGE area that is only corn (~100' x 120') and then one smaller patch of strawberries and corn (~10' x 30'). Dad (DH's dad) knows we have broadened our "gardening areas," so when we asked to borrow his tiller a couple of weeks back (to make our job easier), he and Mom went lookin'. DH and I were quite shocked and DID NOT expect this at all.

Okay---time to get my day going while awaiting the girls to wake.
Happy Monday

Friday, June 19, 2009

Granny's Stars progress...


Oh yes, we have progress! I suppose going a night without sleep shouldn't affect me too much???? **wink**
Nah.... BUT I did forego my run yesterday (and today) :0( I will definitely hit the pavement tomorrow and Sunday while up at the farm.

We will be heading out to the farm soon. Pizza is in the oven, all laundry is almost done (one more load in the dryer), luggage is packed as well as the sewing machine and quilting supplies for tomorrow's quilting-day with MIL. We hope to finish all 56 DWR blocks (and 30 half-DWR blocks) and sew rows into three sections for me to quilt over the next week or so. We are ahead of schedule :0)

Back to Granny's Stars (ie: Candace's Stars) I have the border applique and yo-yo fabric packed for the trip up to the farm. I figured we'll have light the entire way there, so I might as well make use of the near 2 hours travel time. I've never made a yo-yo before, but my trial turned out just fine. (pictured in the right of the photo). My MIL has her yo-yo maker up at the farm, so I'll see if that goes any quicker. I have freezer-paper "ironed" on for the leaves and petals; however, I won't be turning any seam allowances over. I tried a sample leaf with seam allowance, and it's just too down-right putzy! I should have used paper-backed fusible, but instead I'll just put a dab of glue (washable glue-stick) on each piece to hold it in place while I applique it---this way there won't be ANY stiffness due to use of any fusible.

Okay---pizza buzzer just dinged. See you all back on Sunday!

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Glorious weekend at the farm; Fun with Bricks complete; saddened by Olympic Marathon...

I was able to put the last stitches on my Fun with Bricks (pattern from Bonnie Hunter @ Quiltville) Thursday before leaving for the farm. It is yet another fun scrappy quilt with many pieces that bring back memories from completing other projects leading to these scraps. The quilting is a simple stipple/meander in the colored "bow-ties" while there is almost an hour-glass-loop created in the white "hearts." So----for the time being, it is my snuggler until I get my OC back from Julie. I needed to loan it to Julie since she had to give hers up to me for a couple of weeks while I put some final quilting touches on it.

The weekend was fun and relaxing. I packed up the Bernina and fabric to start my next quilt for a friend's daughter (for Christmas). I figured it was time to start tackling Christmas presents because I figure time is going to start to be limited, and my "gift-list" is growing and growing.
So far on the list:

  • Masha (friend's adopted Russian daughter)
  • Andre (friend's adopted Russian son)
  • Isaac (friend's adopted son---he's American)
  • Jan (the friend ;0) )
  • Scot (DH's boss)
  • Derek (Brother in law)
  • Ron (brother)
  • Anita (friend of in-laws)

so..ummmmmm..yeah....it might not be a bad idea to get those projects rolling, eh??? In fact, I might even give the Fun with Bricks to my brother as last resort if time gets to be limited.

The weekend wasn't all quilting, though. Friday was ABSOLUTELY beautiful outside! We spent a few hours picking TONS of beans and cucumbers, and then pickling and canning the bounty! I cannot buh-lieve how many blossoms are still on the cucumber plants!!! They (in-laws) are going to have another ton-n-a-half next weekend when they go up!!!!

Running definitely was on my weekend agenda, too. Friday night, I only ran an easy 4 miles, and then Saturday morning I ran about 11 miles, give-or-take. Oh, that reminds me!! I can't WAIT until the post-man brings me my next goodie!!! The goodie has nothing to do with quilting, either! I broke down and ordered a Garmin Forerunner 305, which is a glorified (many bells-n-whistles) watch; complete with heart-rate monitor and GPS capabilities. I have a hard time not knowing the exact distances I run on my training runs----it downright bugs me!!!!! I can estimate them based on my time and effort; I can plot them out on some WWW sites and know distances, but still.... I want to know as exact as possible AT THE MOMENT!! Besides, this watch also has a few neat features that give you a competitor; be it competing against a previous run of yours OR competing against a goal that you program in. Ohhhh...I can't wait!!!! It should be arriving sometime this week, but I don't know the exact date.

Finally, I was so happy to find out that the Women's Olympic Marathon was going to televised LIVE Saturday evening (7:30 ET). I was pumped; got all the girls bathed and fed before then to be sure I could devote 2 hours of uninterrupted time in front of the tube to watch every step!!!! And then..... the gun goes off....things are going well....can't really see Deena Kastor in the pack anywhere, and then.........................personal heartbreak!!!----Deena Kastor pulled out at mile 3. *cry...slump....disbelief* I was so hoping for her to have a beautiful race; was planning to pull for her all the way. I am quite amazed at myself for how disappointed and heart-broken I was when I saw her pull out due to injury..........It was SO disappointing that I almost turned the TV off since I really no longer had any heart to watch it. But then, the camera panned back to the leaders; and there was Paula Radcliffe, who (although British), is yet another running role model for me. So, for the next two hours, I was glued to the screen, footage being shared between the marathon and swimming events (as if the USA would NOT show LIVE coverage of Phelp's race.....tscha, right!!!) *wink*
My heart was now pulling for Radcliffe, hoping against hope, she would finish the race this time and not needing to pull out herself. So, imagine my heartbreak AGAIN when I saw Radcliffe STOP in the last part of the race. I was so bummed thinking she'd be pulling out too, but she stretched and fought through it to finish 23rd. What inspiration!!!!!!! I know she wasn't the top Briton (is that correct Amanda---I read it in an article online, but have never seen that spelling before) , but she's yet another idol of mine.

I am looking forward to the week; quilting; planning for school; cleaning house; gardening; the whole lot is on the agenda. And, of course, I can't forget to add running to that list!!!

Happy Sunday!